Recycling & Waste Management


To provide County-wide solid waste planning, technical assistance, recycling and solid waste management services as directed by the County Board of Legislators to the residents, businesses and municipalities of Jefferson County.

Types of Services/Assistance

  • The Department operates a recycling center that is open to municipalities, businesses, waste haulers, and agencies that have been issued Commercial Waste Permits. The permits require certain levels of automotive, general liability, workers' compensation, and disability insurance. Please call our office for more information.
  • The Department collects recyclables from 20 locations around the County, serving 21 of 22 Towns. These locations are operated by the Towns. For information about these locations, which serve the residents of the towns, please call our administrative office at 315-786-6900.
  • The Department also operates a transfer station for Municipal Solid Waste Permit holders. The County transfers 36,000 tons annually from this station to the Development Authority of the North Country's landfill in the Town of Rodman. 
The Department provides assistance to businesses and residents who have questions about recycling or waste management. The Department has flyers available about recycling.
  • The Department also provides a site for all residents of the county to bring bulky items, such as furniture, for disposal at $134 per ton, and bagged trash with prepaid $3.00 stickers.  Prepaid stickers are available for purchase at:  The General Store, 816 Bradley Street, Watertown; Town of Pamelia office, 25859 NY-37, Watertown; Jefferson County Recycling and Waste Management Facility, 27138 NYS Route 12, Watertown.